Teens and cellphones: Some startling statistics

 

 

by Christopher Paslay

 

Recently, Common Sense Media and Benenson Strategy Group conducted over 2,000 interviews with teenagers about their cellphone use.  Here are some of their findings:

 

          –Eight in 10 teenagers have cell phones.

 

          –In an average week, teens send 440 text messages.

 

          –110 of these text messages are sent during class.

         

          –65 percent of teens use their cellphones in the building  despite school policy.

    

          –35 percent admitted to cheating on a test at least once with their cellphone.

 

          –65 percent say they know of somebody who has cheated with a cellphone.

 

          –Only 41 percent say that cheating with a cellphone is a serious offense.       

 

Although technology is obviously here to stay, and progressive educators must find innovative ways to use this technology to their students’ benefit, I believe we are nearing critical mass when it comes to cellphones and the classroom.  Something has got to give: the cellphone or academic integrity.

 

In my opinion, cellphones in schools are going to eventually go in the direction of cellphones in cars—there will be stricter rules and regulations put in place to keep teens from abusing technology.

 

Let’s just hope principals and education policy makers come to their senses sooner rather than later.

 

11 Comments

Filed under Cell Phones

11 responses to “Teens and cellphones: Some startling statistics

  1. Metra

    Thanks this will help with my assignment a lot!

  2. ava

    thx soooo much i <3 using my phone but i dont like it at school. this is going to help sooo much with my debate im against!!!!!!

  3. thank you this is gonna help me soo much

  4. Arserash

    Thanks bro.
    Got a speaking competition tomorrow. Completely screwed.
    and this has unscrewed me a wee bit.

  5. andre dixon

    thank you. I’m doing a argument essay about if cell phones a tool of distraction rather than a tool of knowledge and this really helped my argument.

  6. Cassie

    thanks this helped me with my comp essay! :)

  7. Brianna

    Thank you. I’m doing an argument essay on how phone can be used for knowledge tools and i need statistics for people who use their phones in class

  8. this helped alot!!!! OMG!!! Thanks so much!!

  9. Anonymous!

    Those statistics are SCARY, totally proves the point that they should be banned!!!

  10. thanks helped with my disscursive essay alot!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ta again

  11. Hi there I am so grateful I found your blog page, I really found you by error, while I was looking on Yahoo for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to
    say cheers for a incredible post and a all round entertaining blog (I
    also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read
    through it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added in your
    RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a
    lot more, Please do keep up the excellent work.

Leave a Reply

