‘The Village Proposal’ to be Published by Rowman & Littlefield

Good news!  My new book titled The Village Proposal: Why Education is a Shared Responsibility is officially under contract with Rowman & Littlefield Education, an imprint of the Rowman & Littlefield Publishing Group. 

As described in an earlier blog post, The Village Proposal is based on the African proverb that it takes a village to raise a child.  Part education commentary, part memoir, the book analyzes the theme of “shared responsibility” in education, and examines the various entities that have an impact on America’s schools.  Because teachers are the centerpiece of education, the story of my teaching career is told in alternating chapters opposite my commentary on shared responsibility.

 

Although a release date has not been set by the publisher, I’m working diligently with my editor and hope to see the book on the shelf and in education catalogues by the end of 2011. 

 

With a large portion of this writing project completed, I hope to get back into the routine of blogging; those that read this blog are aware that entries in 2010 have been few and far between.  I apologize for this.  Between family, grad school, teaching full time (including summer SLAM), and writing a book, time is limited. 

 

I look forward to the 2010-11 school year, and to welcoming all of my new students and their families.  I also look forward to blogging once again on Chalk and Talk, and reengaging in conversations aimed at strengthening education. 

 

Thanks to all of you who helped me find a publisher.  I’ll keep you posted on the release date of the book. 

 

Sincerely,

 

Christopher Paslay      

 

4 Comments

Filed under Holistic Education

4 responses to “‘The Village Proposal’ to be Published by Rowman & Littlefield

  1. Janet

    I can’t wait to read it!! I’ve missed your blogging..see you next week!

    j.

  2. Samuel Reed

    Chris;

    Congrats. I figured you have been busy working on your book deal. You should give your blog readers a sneak peak of a few chapters. Maybe do some interactive publishing. Keep us posted.

    Sam

  3. Patricia Burks

    I was initially excited about today’s op-ed piece, “False goals”. Indeed, while all our children are entitled to an education which prepares them for work and life, and which focuses on their unique talent, all of our children, by definition, cannot be above average. What disturbs me, however, is your understanding of what an average is. It is not about half above and about half below — think 200 school teachers averaging their wealth in comparison to Bill Gates and Oprah.

  4. phillystyle71

    Patricia,

    You make a good point. With small groups, such as 200, the law of averages doesn’t work as well. However, as I noted in the article, averages do work with “large groups of children”. The school district has 167,000 students. This is much different than 200.

    Thanks for writing.

    Chris

Leave a Reply

